To recognize Asian Americans from the Hudson Valley region who have made significant contributions in their fields., OCA-WHV will host its 38th Dynamic Achiever Award (DAA) Gala at DoubleTree Hotel Tarrytown on Saturday, November 3, 2018.

Keynote Speaker

Jill Sung (孫儀文)

President & CEO, Abacus Federal Savings Bank (國寶銀行)

Jill is the President & CEO of Abacus Federal Savings Bank. She started working at Abacus Bank more than 20 years ago as its general Counsel. Prior to that, Jill was a corporate attorney. Abacus Bank was started by her father, Thomas Sung, to meet the banking needs of the Asian-American community in the five boroughs of New York City, Edison, NJ, and Philadelphia. Abacus Bank focuses on servicing consumers and small businesses in its community. Jill has MBA from Wharton, JD from NYU and a BA from Wesleyan University. The incredible saga of her Chinese immigrant family was featured in Steve James' Oscar-nominated documentary "Abacus: Small Enough to Jail".

Dynamic Achiever Award Nominees

Doris K. Dalton

Chair, Westchester Human Rights Commission

Rev. Doris K. Dalton is the Executive Director of the Westchester MLK Institute for Nonviolence. Her life's mission statement is "Extending the Table of Love so All May Eat and Be Full." She believes our greatest work together is to establish Beloved Communities that create space for all of us to transform from strangers to friends. A strong, beloved community will be able to effectively address the materialism, militarism and racism that Dr. King spoke about at Riverside Church so long ago. She is committed to a life and work of nonviolence, antiracism, and economic justice for all. She is an ordained United Methodist Deacon, and is married to Rev. Tim Dalton. They have two amazing children.

Suki Terada Ports

Community advocate     (video profile)

Suki's community-based activism began in the 1960s with engagement in local educational issues and struggles over the neighborhood park and access to public space. Since the 1980s she has focused her energies on HIV/AIDS and on the needs of low-income AIDS patients with the least access to health care and social services. She created the Minority Task Force on AIDS under the auspices of the Council of Churches in 1985 and was a co-founder of the National Minority AIDS Council in 1986. In 1989 she founded the Family Health Project to focus on issues of women of color and AIDS. Suki has consulted to multiple projects targeting race, class, and gender inequities in health care, and she is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Susan B. Anthony Award of the NYC chapter of the National Organization for Women, the Frederick Douglass Award of the North Star Fund, and the Union Square Award.

OCA-WHV 38th Anniversary Gala

DoubleTree Hotel, Tarrytown, New York
Saturday, November 3, 2018

TimeTentative banquet program
6:00 - 7:00Reception
7:00 - 7:15Opening remarks
7:15 - 7:45Dynamic Achiever Award presentation
7:45 - 8:00Group photos
8:00 - 8:15Dancing
8:15 - 8:45Youth Award presentation
8:45 - 9:00Live auction
9:00 - 9:30Dancing

Past DAA Honorees

YearDynamic Achiever Award Honorees
1983Cheng-Tse Wu, Anna Mi Lee, Chih Meng (孟治), Ellie Mao Mok (毛愛立)
1984 Elaine L. Chao (趙小蘭), Richard C. Hsia, Maria Lee, Hugh Mo (莫虎), Edward C. Tseng, Nian-Tzu Wang (王念祖)
1985 Tisa Chang (張渝), Roderick G.W. Chu (趙光華), George Lau, Charles Wang (王嘉廉)
1986 Betty Lee Sung (宋李瑞芳)
1989 Jenny Kao Chase (高為量)
1990Alice Pu Lin
1995 Ti-Hua Chang (張提華), Jeffrey Yang
1996 Stanley Chang, David Ho (何大一), Ang Lee (李安)
1997 David Chiu, Gish Jen (任璧蓮), Shirley Mow, C. J. Tan (譚崇仁)
1998Frances L. Chu, Richard L. Chu, Nancy Loo (羅美玲), Ed Young
1999 Henry Chang-Yu Lee (李昌鈺), Linda Ching Sledge (程美蘭)
2000 Julie Chen, David Chu, Chang-Chyi Tsuei (崔章琪), Sheryl WuDunn (伍潔芳)
2001 Susan S. Chan, Wei-Tih Cheng (鄭惟悌), Corky Lee (李揚國), Tung-Tien Sun (孫同天)
2002 Da Chen (陳達), Franklin J. Chu, Rita Chen Kuo (陳芳玉), Jean Raymundo Lobell
2004 David Chang, Savio Tung (童偉鶴)
2005 David E. Chong, David Hwa-Ping King, Juri Tatsuuma
2006Sinforosa Tan, Christina Liang Wong, Fun-Sun Yao (姚繁盛), Baw-Chyr Peggy Yao (胡報治)
2007 Chung-Wha Hong (洪貞和), Chih Tsing Hsia (夏志清), Jianping Wang
2008 Tom Hei, Wesley Hom, Kam Mak (麥錦鴻)
2009Henry Chang, Michael Chen, Nai-Kong Cheung
2010Jean Wood Chang, Bill Imada, Hui-Mei Lin (林慧美), Zang Toi
2011Edwina Kho, Vivian S. Lee (李淑清), Sheldon Pang (龐曉東), Jeannette Wang
2012Lisa Eng, Bernadine Han (韓芬), Brenda Sun, Chester Mah
2013 Angela Chao (趙安吉), Randall T. Eng (伍元天), Jane Aoyama-Martin
2014 Judy Cheng-Hopkins, Sookie Lee-Kim, James C. Tsai
2015 Howard Chen (陳浩), Baayork Lee (李寶玉), New York Life
2016 Amy Chin (陳雪媚), Steve Choi (崔慶漢), Vincent HoSang (何吉春)
2017 Joanna Wan-Ying Chan (陳尹瑩), James S.C. Chao (趙錫成), Tammy Huang (黃騰), Mark C. Fang (方兆明), Helen Tang (鄧細瓊)