To celebrate our 39th anniversary and recognize Asian Americans who have made significant contributions in their fields, OCA-WHV will host the Dynamic Achiever Award (DAA) Gala at DoubleTree Hotel Tarrytown on Saturday, November 2, 2019.

OCA Gala Registration
Guest Name(s):
Contact Email:
OCA Gala Advertisement
Contact Name:
Contact Email:

2018 Dynamic Achiever Award Recipients

Rev. Doris K. Dalton

Executive Director, Westchester MLK Institute for Nonviolence

Rev. Doris K. Dalton is the Executive Director of Westchester Martin Luther King, Jr. Institute for Nonviolence, and the Chair of Westchester County Human Rights Commission. Her life's mission statement is "Extending the Table of Love so All May Eat and Be Full." She believes our greatest work together is to establish Beloved Communities that create space for all of us to transform from strangers to friends. A strong, beloved community will be able to effectively address the materialism, militarism and racism that Dr. King spoke about at Riverside Church so long ago. She is committed to a life and work of nonviolence, antiracism, and economic justice for all. She is an ordained United Methodist Deacon, and is married to Rev. Tim Dalton. They have two amazing children. (Full biography)

Jim Lee

Senior Vice President, Finance, PepsiCo North America Beverages

Jim Lee is currently Senior Vice President, Finance for North America Beverages, PepsiCo's largest operating division with over $20 billion in net revenue. He assumed the role in 2016 and is responsible for leading the finance function for Gatorade, Foodservice, Franchise, and Brand & Innovation. In addition, Jim leads the M&A and Business Development function for North America Beverages. Jim is based out of PepsiCo's North America Beverages headquarters in White Plains, NY. Jim joined PepsiCo in 1998 and has held several finance leadership roles across the globe. Between 2006 and 2016, Jim and his family lived overseas in four countries, across three continents. Jim holds a BSE in Operations Research from Princeton University and an MBA from Columbia University. (Full biography)

Suki Terada Ports

Vice President, Japanese American Association of New York

Suki's community-based activism began in the 1960s with engagement in local educational issues and struggles over the neighborhood park and access to public space. Since the 1980s she has focused her energies on HIV/AIDS and on the needs of low-income AIDS patients with the least access to health care and social services. Suki received The Order of the Rising Sun, Gold and Silver Rays, from the Government of Japan in 2015 for her outstanding contribution to the betterment of welfare for the Japanese American community in the United States. She was also one of five Asian Americans honored by New York Governor Andrew Cuomo in the Asian Americans in New York Exhibit at the State Capitol in 2017 for her leadership in improving access to quality health care related to AIDS in low-income and minority communities. (Full biography)

2018 Master of Ceremonies

Pei-Sze Cheng

Journalist, NBC 4 New York

Emmy Award-winning reporter Pei-Sze Cheng is a member of NBC 4 New York's investigative unit, the I-Team. Cheng's investigations have generated results for viewers throughout the Tri-State region. In one case, her reporting on a teenager's overdose led to shocking social media footage taken from a supervised drug party. Following Cheng's reporting, local police made an arrest in the case. Cheng is a graduate of Columbia University, where she earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science. Deeply rooted in the community, she is an active member of the Asian American Journalists Association. She resides with her family in Nassau County. (Full biography)

OCA-WHV 38th Anniversary Gala

DoubleTree Hotel, Tarrytown, New York
Saturday, November 3, 2018

18:00 - 18:45ReceptionGrand Pre-Function South
18:45 - 19:00Banquet seatingWestchester Ballroom
19:00 - 19:02Opening remarksJane Li & Gary Guo
19:02 - 19:05National AnthemRichard Yan
19:05 - 19:08Welcome remarksLi Lin
19:08 - 19:11Greetings from OCA NationalKendall Kosai
19:11 - 19:13Greetings from Senator GillibrandLisa Hofflich
19:15 - 19:21Dynamic Achiever AwardDoris Dalton
19:21 - 19:27Dynamic Achiever AwardJim Lee
19:27 - 19:33Dynamic Achiever AwardSuki Terada Ports
19:33 - 19:37Introduction of distinguished guestsPei-Sze Cheng
19:55 - 20:10Group photosPei-Sze Cheng
20:10 - 20:15Community Service AwardRobert Sweeney
20:16 - 20:20Jeannette Wang AwardAlan Neiditch
20:20 - 20:24AVON Xiaochun Luo AwardWei Dai
20:24 - 20:28Jean Wood Chang AwardJean Chang
20:28 - 20:32Phi Lambda Westchester AwardWen-Ning Hsieh
20:32 - 20:55Student Leadership AwardVincent HoSang
20:55 - 21:00Group photosLinda Sledge
21:00 - 21:15DancingMarilu Lerma
21:15 - 21:00Live auctionHoward Schwartz
21:30 - 21:45DancingMarilu Lerma
21:45 - 22:00Raffle drawingJaclyn Liu
22:00 - 23:00Group danceMarilu Lerma

Past DAA Honorees

YearDynamic Achiever Award Honorees
1983Cheng-Tse Wu, Anna Mi Lee, Chih Meng (孟治), Ellie Mao Mok (毛愛立)
1984 Elaine L. Chao (趙小蘭), Richard C. Hsia, Maria Lee, Hugh Mo (莫虎), Edward C. Tseng, Nian-Tzu Wang (王念祖)
1985 Tisa Chang (張渝), Roderick G.W. Chu (趙光華), George Lau, Charles Wang (王嘉廉)
1986 Betty Lee Sung (宋李瑞芳)
1989 Jenny Kao Chase (高為量)
1990Alice Pu Lin
1995 Ti-Hua Chang (張提華), Jeffrey Yang
1996 Stanley Chang, David Ho (何大一), Ang Lee (李安)
1997 David Chiu, Gish Jen (任璧蓮), Shirley Mow, C. J. Tan (譚崇仁)
1998Frances L. Chu, Richard L. Chu, Nancy Loo (羅美玲), Ed Young
1999 Henry Chang-Yu Lee (李昌鈺), Linda Ching Sledge (程美蘭)
2000 Julie Chen, David Chu, Chang-Chyi Tsuei (崔章琪), Sheryl WuDunn (伍潔芳)
2001 Susan S. Chan, Wei-Tih Cheng (鄭惟悌), Corky Lee (李揚國), Tung-Tien Sun (孫同天)
2002 Da Chen (陳達), Franklin J. Chu, Rita Chen Kuo (陳芳玉), Jean Raymundo Lobell
2004 David Chang, Savio Tung (童偉鶴)
2005 David E. Chong, David Hwa-Ping King, Juri Tatsuuma
2006Sinforosa Tan (林麗珠), Christina Liang Wong, Fun-Sun Yao (姚繁盛), Baw-Chyr Peggy Yao (胡報治)
2007 Chung-Wha Hong (洪貞和), Chih Tsing Hsia (夏志清), Jianping Wang
2008 Tom Hei, Wesley Hom, Kam Mak (麥錦鴻)
2009Henry Chang, Michael Chen, Nai-Kong Cheung
2010Jean Wood Chang, Bill Imada, Hui-Mei Lin (林慧美), Zang Toi
2011Edwina Kho, Vivian S. Lee (李淑清), Sheldon Pang (龐曉東), Jeannette Wang
2012Lisa Eng, Bernadine Han (韓芬), Brenda Sun (孫鮑世瑩), Chester Mah
2013 Angela Chao (趙安吉), Randall T. Eng (伍元天), Jane Aoyama-Martin
2014 Judy Cheng-Hopkins, Sookie Lee-Kim, James C. Tsai
2015 Howard Chen (陳浩), Baayork Lee (李寶玉), New York Life
2016 Amy Chin (陳雪媚), Steve Choi (崔慶漢), Vincent HoSang (何吉春)
2017 Joanna Wan-Ying Chan (陳尹瑩), James S.C. Chao (趙錫成), Tammy Huang (黃騰), Mark C. Fang (方兆明), Helen Tang (鄧細瓊)
2018 Doris Dalton, Jim Lee, Suki Ports